Home » Asian Style » Tangy Orange Fried Tofu

Tangy Orange Fried Tofu

I would be lying if I said I’ve always liked tofu.  Even as a young vegan, I found it utterly bland and chewy.  I would whip it into smoothies or desserts but it so rarely touched my dinner plate.  Now… its a whole other ball game.  I marinade my tofu over night before creating anything.  Its pressed till all of the juices comes out then its dipped into whatever flavor I want for the meal.  I even use vegan broths to create “beef” or “chicken” dishes.

Last night was the first time I ever made fried tofu.  Inspired by an entry from girlichef on her favorite tofu dish, I decided to give it a try.  The results were…amazing!  I think this will be a definite top ten tofu recipes for me.

Tangy Orange Fried Tofu

Here’s how I made it:

Ingredients:

  • 1 package of extra firm tofu
  • Chicken broth (vegan if preferred) or orange juice
  • 1 package of Saifun (bean threads) or Rice Noodles
  • 1/2 cup of Asian Orange Sauce (I prefer Panda Express’ Orange Sauce)
  • 1 can of Mandarin oranges (sliced and in water or juice) or fresh peeled and sectioned
  • Oil for frying (I usually use grapeseed oil, xx virgin olive oil or sesame seed oil)
  • Teriyaki sauce

Directions:

  1. Press and drain the package of tofu (check out a gadget from TofuXpress to make this a breeze).
  2. Marinade the tofu in the chicken broth (or in orange juice if you wish for a more orangy flavor) over night or a minimum of a few hours.
  3. In a large skillet (electric in my case) bring 2 inches of oil to 350 degrees F.
  4. Add orange sauce and juice/water from the can of oranges (but NOT the oranges themselves).
  5. Stir till its well mixed and allow the oil to bubble slightly.
  6. Add drained tofu.
  7. Fry tofu till its light brown.
  8. Remove tofu (don’t turn the oil off yet) and place on a paper towel to cool.
  9. Add Saifun (broken up into small bite size pieces as its difficult to cut or bite through once cooked) or rice noodles to oil.
  10. Cook Saifun till it floats to the top of the oil or the rice noodles till done (usually only a few minutes).  If the Saifun is too chewy or hard after frying, place it in a bowl and cover with boiled water until softened then drain.
  11. Remove Saifun/noodles from oil and allow to drain (NOT on a paper towel as they will stick to it).
  12. Please Saifun/noodles on a plate.
  13. Add tofu on top of Saifun/noodles.
  14. Add Mandarin orange slices to top.
  15. Drizzle with Teriyaki sauce.
  16. Serve with a vegetable garnish.
2 thoughts on “Tangy Orange Fried Tofu

  1. Okay, sounds good enough to try! I don’t normally do the tofu thing, unless it’s scrambled with mushrooms, green onions and bell peppers, or unless it’s a smoothie!

Comments are closed.