Home » From the chef » My love of cooking

My love of cooking

I’m not going to lie to you.  I LOVE to eat.  No skinny chicks in this house!  Okay… so one of us is a former pro athlete and has a body most of us would give a few years off our life to have but she’s not the one who cooks all the time.  And if you’ve ever lived with an athlete then you know they can consume massive amounts of food!  I love it!

I love to cook because I love to eat.  Only… unlike most people, I can’t walk into just any restaurant and order something off the menu.  Though I’m not as bad as it seems, I do extremely limit my contact with foods I haven’t made myself.  I have to.  White flour goes through a bleaching process.  Bleach is bad to consume.  Same with white sugar.  So those are two huge no-no’s in my diet.  Now go to a restaurant and try to find something on the menu that doesn’t contain either of those!  Yeah right!

Second on my list of “don’t eats” is soy products.  I’m estrogen dominant which means my body makes more than enough and any outside sources for it cause sever behavior and/or physical reactions.  Not a pretty picture, my dears.  So for those health nuts out there… can you find many products in the health food aisle without soy in it?  Not an easy task, no sir-ee!

Lastly, processed/engineered foods.  Now I understand that many food companies are trying to expand their pockets and our pantries at the same time.  I know that for many processed/engineered food doesn’t seem like a big deal.  And perhaps it isn’t.  But for someone like me, who’s getting sick nearly every time I’ve had heavily processed food… well, I’m just not taking the chance any longer.

So what is processed food?  If you can’t understand the ingredient list… its processed.

Thus I cook my own food.  And yes, a lot of it is from scratch.  I’m sure you think that’s all fine and dandy but you don’t have the time to cook things from scratch.  Don’t worry, almost all of my recipes are written so that you can create these dishes with either store bought items or contain some “quick substitutes” for items you would not normally have.  But I’m going to warn you now… I’m into eating healthy and most of my recipes and those I link to, are chosen for their nutritional value over the length of cooking time.

Yes, I make my own almond milk.  Its delicious and incredibly easy.  Its also not a requirement for most of the recipes on here.  So if you aren’t sure about any of the recipes listed or have a helpful hint, please feel free to add it to the comments.

