Home » Breads and rolls » Eggs in a Basket

Eggs in a Basket

I’m English.  As in VERY English.  I’m only the third generation of my family to be in America.  My Grams played a very big influence in my early childhood so I was instilled with very English traditions despite being in America.  When I started to cook, English food was at the top of my list of interests (yes, I’ll be adding a series of that shortly).  I LOVE “eggs in a basket” for breakfast and so does Bre!  She requests it often.  For those of you who don’t know what that is, I’ve included the more traditional recipe below along with my two other variations in the following entries.

Eggs in a Basket

Ingredients:

  • Eggs
  • Butter
  • Bread

Directions:

  1. In a frying pan, add about a tablespoon of butter or enough to coat the bottom of the pan.
  2. Take a shot glass, measuring cup or any small diameter cup that you can use to remove a circle from the middle of the bread.
  3. Add the bread (with a hole in it) to the butter.
  4. Lightly brown on one side, add a bit more butter and flip to brown slightly on the opposite side.
  5. Crack open an egg and drop it into the hole in the bread.
  6. Allow the bread/egg to cook to your liking.  You can also flip the bread/egg to cook the yolk more thoroughly if you wish.  I also toast the cut out centers.

