Home » Lunch » Chicken Hummus Wraps

Chicken Hummus Wraps

This recipe comes with a little side story.  The majority of my recipes that I create personally are often born out of a hodge podge of items I happen to have around the kitchen and a creative streak about a mile wide.  This recipe was also born out of such a circumstance.  The other night we had a few friends over for a full moon gathering.  Snacks were brought, including a large tub of hummus with garlic!  Yum!  We enjoyed our festivities and parted ways.  The following day I realized we had quite a lot of hummus left.  More than I we eat in an average week and I hate for it to go bad.  So I thought I’d figure out a way to use it.  Sitting right next to the tub was a jar of my recently dehydrated cherry tomatoes in olive oil.  An idea started forming…here’s what the end result was

Chicken Hummus Wraps (with Vegan alternatives)

Ingredients:

  • 2 Chicken Breasts (chicken flavored seitan or tofu marinated in vegan chicken broth)
  • Hummus
  • 1/2 Dried Tomatoes
  • 4 Tortillas or Pita bread
  • Cheese (vegan versions if desired): I created this with cheddar but am sure feta might also be a good choice for this dish
  • 1 TBSP Minced Garlic
  • 1 TBSP Olive Oil

Directions:

  1. Cut 2 chicken breasts (or substitute) into small pieces.
  2. Warm up 1 tablespoon of olive oil in a skillet or frying pan.
  3. Add 1 tablespoon minced garlic to the pan.
  4. Add chicken to the pan.
  5. Add 1/2 cup tomatoes.
  6. Stir in 1 tablespoon of hummus.
  7. Cook chicken until cooked thoroughly.
  8. Warm up pita/tortillas for ten seconds in the microwave.
  9. Spread a generous helping of hummus on the warmed pita/tortilla.
  10. Add grated cheese (approx. 1/4 cup per wrap).
  11. Add chicken mixture to the wrap.
  12. Fold and serve.
2 thoughts on “Chicken Hummus Wraps

Comments are closed.