Home » Bakery » Learning to make bread

Learning to make bread

For ages I’ve wanted to try making my own bread but honestly thought it would take a lot of time and equipment I didn’t have.  Then the bread machines came up in conversation and I felt that wouldn’t teach me how to actually make the bread.  But a link provided by a friend has rekindled that interest with new hope.  Click here for “Five Minutes a Day for Fresh-Baked Bread”! If all goes well with this experiment, I’ll be purchasing the book.  For my first attempt, I’m going to try the wheat bread.

My variations:

  • I added 2.25 oz of a pecan/peanut mix for a nutty flavor.  I pulverized them in the food processor before adding the other ingredients.
  • I decided to try sesame seed oil as my “neutral flavored oil”.
  • I used almond milk instead of regular milk.
  • I topped the bread with honey, oats and sesame seeds.

Observations:

  • Its best to add a cup or so of the flour before turning on the food processor to begin the mixing process, then add a cup at a time as it thickens VERY quickly and makes it difficult for the processor to mix.
  • When they said it was “very sticky” they aren’t kidding!
  • I prepped the bread, let it rise and then had it in the fridge overnight before baking – it was considerably less sticky and easier to handle.
  • Olive oil is fine for greasing the pan.
  • I baked two loaves of bread for 50 minutes then turned off the oven, leaving them in for an additional 10 minutes.
  • Keep hands VERY wet while transferring dough to pans – keep bowl of clean water handy.
  • Large bowl + loose lid = perfect for rising and directly to fridge.

Now we’ll see how long it keeps and what’s the best means of storage!

