Home » Desserts » Deven’s Delectable Vegan Peanut Butter Cookies

Deven’s Delectable Vegan Peanut Butter Cookies

Quite the boasting title, ‘eh!  Hopefully you’ll like this recipe as much as I do!

Okay, so this started out with Bre making her lunch for work and wanting a peanut butter/strawberry jam sandwich.  She opened the jar of my homemade peanut butter and found it quite solid.  Seems I still had a jar from the very first batch I did oh-so long ago that wasn’t quite spreadable.  So I figured with the Fae Day coming up, I might as well make peanut butter cookies.  Of course, I can’t just look up any recipe and make them.  No, I don’t like white flour and I don’t have all-purpose flour.  All I had was whole wheat flour which makes cookies more like bread.  So onto the Cook’s Thesaurus where I go to find all my substitutions for baking, and discovered that oatmeal flour is a great substitution in cookies!  AND to make it… all you do is toss instant oats into a blender/processor until its a flour consistency!  How easy is that?!  You better believe I’m trying it in my bread mix next!

Oh right… back to the cookies.  Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups oat flour
  • 1 cup graham crackers (make sure you have vegan crackers)
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar (I have used honey, agave and maple syrup instead of the brown sugar with great results)
  • 1/3 cup oil (I use grapeseed, safflower or other like light oils)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup homemade peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup almond milk

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven 350F.
  2. Toss all the ingredients into a food processor and mix until well blended.
  3. Roll dough into balls (its a bit crumbly so you can add margarine or more oil if you like a softer cookie)
  4. Place balls on an un-greased cookie sheet.
  5. Flatten balls with a fork making a criss-cross design.
  6. Bake for 10 – 15 minutes.

In my particular baking escapade, I added a brownie mix to the top of the cookies and baked for longer!  YUM!

