Home » Desserts » Vegan Coconut Rice Pudding

Vegan Coconut Rice Pudding

I love days when I’m in such a cooking mood that the Madame Zen* smells completely edible!  This week Bre picked up a carton of store bought coconut milk to try and I have to say, I was greatly disappointed.  The coconut milk I’m accustomed to is much thicker and has a much more distinct coconut flavor.  Albeit, what I’m use to is primarily only used for cooking and therefore has had a great deal of water removed.  It wasn’t bad mind you but not what I was expecting.  So I decided to make some rice pudding with it.

If you’ve ever made rice pudding from scratch you know it’s generally time consuming and usually tricky to get right.  Now I’ll let you in on a secret… I’m a cheater!  I like to make things quick, easy and tasty.  I have perfected that in my coconut rice pudding finally!  Naturally I have to share it with all of you, so here it is…

Ingredients

  • 2-4 cups Coconut milk (See “Tips & Hints”)
  • 1 cup Jasmine rice (See “Tips & Hints”)
  • 1/3 cup Agave, honey, maple syrup and/or brown sugar to taste (See “Tips & Hints”)
  • 1 tablespoon arrowroot powder or tapioca starch (See “Tips & Hints”)
  • 1/2 cup Coconut flakes
  • Cold water

Directions

  1. In a sauce pan over medium heat, bring the coconut milk to a gentle boil.
  2. Add rice and coconut flakes to the milk.
  3. Continue to simmer adding more coconut milk if needed, until thoroughly cooked.
  4. Once the rice is soft, add your sweetener to taste.
  5. Continue to cook until almost all of the milk has been absorbed or thickens slightly.
  6. While the mixture is still warm, pour into a food processor or blender and blend until smooth (you can get it pretty creamy this way if left in long enough).
  7. While that blends, mix equal parts cold water and arrowroot in a small bowl.
  8. Pour arrowroot liquid in the mix and continue till satisfactory creaminess is achieved (will set further in the fridge).
  9. Put pudding in fridge to set till cools completely (a few hours generally).

Tips & Hints

  • You can use almond milk instead of coconut milk but it usually is much thinner.
  • I keep extra coconut milk around to keep adding to the rice in case I need it while cooking.  For some reason I have had coconut milk reduce at different rates and its difficult to be certain of an exact amount you’ll need.
  • To get the texture most people like, you pretty much need to overcook your rice so you can start out with leftover white rice of any variety or cook your rice, allow it to cool overnight in the fridge and continue the recipe.  I use Jasmine rice because it cooks quickly and we like the taste.
  • I use honey and 1-2 tablespoons of brown sugar for this recipe.
  • I use arrowroot powder as my thickener for almost all my puddings as I like how it looks.  Very little goes a long way but if you like very thick pudding, add a bit more.
  • If you use tapioca starch and find that it causes lumps while mixing, try dissolving it before adding it to the mix (step 7 if using arrowroot).

*For those of you who don’t know, I am not the Madame Zen.  The Madame Zen is a 34 ft mobile home that I live in with my partner Bre and Tonkinese cat named Charlie.  Our home is named the Madame Zen because of her Asian interior design and the very Zen effect she has on us and others.

