Home » Bakery » Minced Meat Pies – Vegan Option

Minced Meat Pies – Vegan Option

Don’t write this blog off the radar just yet!  I know, I know… bad blogger but hey give me some slack here!  I’m busy working on Rue Apothecary and the blog over there.  Plus, this IS suppose to be a personal cookbook and I haven’t been inventing much lately.  Except for this week.  I’ve had a hankering for a childhood treat of Minced pies but the American jarred version is… well not even close to the real thing.  So I dredged up several recipes and settled on one that I really wanted to try.  First, I’ve never made minced meat pies by myself.  As a child, we made them as a family event every holiday season.  Second, I had to change things a bit… as usual.  First, there’s no brandy in this mix though adding it is very simple.  I didn’t add it because as I was creating this, I found myself at the point of saying “this is perfect as it is” and stopped my experimenting.  Here’s what I’ve created:

Minced Pie

  • Minced beef – 1 ½ lbs (optional, see notes)
  • Beef broth – ½ cup
  • Apple cider – 1 ½ qt
  • Apples – 2 lbs (granny smith)
  • Currents – ½ lb
  • Brown sugar – 2 cups
  • Molasses – 12 ounces
  • Allspice – ¼ Tbsp
  • Nutmeg – ¼ Tbsp
  • Cinnamon – 1 Tbsp
  • Cloves – 1 tsp ground
  • Cherries – ½ lb dried
  • Orange juice concentrate
  • Raisins – ½ lb
  • Ginger – ½ tsp
  1. Core, peel and slice apples.
  2. Mix ingredients together (except meat), in a food processor and chop till minced.
  3. Pour ingredients into a crock pot and set on high.  Cook till slow boil then set on low and cook for three hours or till mixture stiffens.
  4. Add 1 cup mixture for every pound of meat to a skillet and brown beef.
  5. Add meat to minced mixture and thoroughly incorporate.
  6. Add mixture to pie shells or wrap a spoonful in a prepared roll. (See options)
  7. Cook till crust is golden.
  8. Cool and serve.  Unused portions freeze well.
NOTES: Yes, the meat is actually OPTIONAL for this recipe as it really only adds a “heartiness” to the mixture more than it does taste.  It will tone down the tartness as well if you find it a bit sharp before adding the meat.

Options:

  • Brandy: add 1 cup of brandy to the above recipe when you add the mixture to the crockpot or marinade your meat in it.
  • You can cook this quite quickly on the stove top by boiling the mixture till everything is fully cooked, softened and the liquid thickens slightly.
  • If you want a thicker sauce, add arrowroot till you achieve the desired consistency.

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as we have and happy holidays!

