Home » CrockPot Cooking » Turkey Taco Triumph!

Turkey Taco Triumph!

My wife loves Spanish/Mexican food.  I’m not very experienced in cooking it.  Not that I don’t like it, because I do, but it’s never really come across my stove top other than the real basics.  So when I found a recipe to make what looked like a tasty Mexican style soup, I was all over it.  I say “style” because I don’t recall any Spanish person in my life using this recipe as a stew, soup or even taco filling!  But… it ended up quite tasty and I’m dubbing it a total success!  So here’s my first Mexican style dish:

Ingredients:

  • 1-2 lbs ground turkey, browned
  • 2 cans whole corn
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 2 cans pinto beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 cans kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 packet taco seasoning
  • 1 packet ranch dressing seasoning
  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 1 tablespoon onion powder
  • Water (if cans of corn and tomatoes don’t provide enough for a broth)

Directions:

  1. Toss everything in your slow cooker.
  2. Set the temperature level to high.
  3. Set the timer for: 4 hours for a non-spicy but flavorful soup, 5 hours for a mildly spicy soup, 6 or more hours depending on your tastes
  4. You know the drill by now…
  5. Come back after 6 hours and serve with shredded cheese and a dollop of sour cream on top with a side of tortilla chips.

